ASSOCIATED STUDENTS OF MICHIGAN STATE UNIVERSITY GENERAL ASSEMBLY SIXTY-FIRST SESSION



BILL NO. 61-09

INTRODUCED BY: Amir (VPAA)

SECONDED BY: Pham (APASO)

CONTRIBUTORS: C. Le (President)¹, A. Guo (CDEIO), Khan (MSA)

A BILL TO: Confirm and Appoint At-Large Undergraduate Student Delegates to the University Council and the University-level Committees and Task-Forces

THE ASSOCIATED STUDENTS OF MICHIGAN STATE UNIVERSITY ENACT:

- WHEREAS, Article II of the Associated Students of Michigan State University Constitution states "The [General] Assembly shall create a process to nominate and appoint undergraduate students to university governance bodies²;" and,
- WHEREAS, Michigan State University's Academic Governance system grants ASMSU sixty-four (64) seats for undergraduate representatives; and,
- WHEREAS, In accordance with the Academic Affairs Code (Appendix V of the ASMSU Manual), the Academic Affairs Nomination Commission has conducted formal reviews and nominations for at-large undergraduate students to the University Council and University-level committees
- **WHEREAS,** In accordance with the Academic Affairs Code and MSU Academic Governance Bylaws, members of the Office of the President³ are appointed to the University Council and University-level committees; and,
- **WHEREAS,** In accordance with the Academic Affairs Code, the Academic Affairs Nomination voted upon delegation placements by unanimous consent; therefore be it further,

¹ Filling in for AVPAA

² ASMSU Manual, Rev. Nov 2023

³ According to <u>Academic Governance Bylaws</u>, 3.3.1.5, 3.4.1.1, 4.4.1, and 4.9.1, the ASMSU President and VPAA have designated seats on the Faculty Senate, Steering Committee, UCUE, and UCSLE

RESOLVED, That the Associated Students of Michigan State University confirm and appoint the following students to the University Council⁴:

- Ahmed Amir, James Madison College
- Connor Le, College of Social Science
- David Hogan, James Madison College
- Mustafa Danish, College of Engineering
- Alika Sharma, College of Engineering
- Ruba Alhareeri, College of Engineering
- Akshith Sam, College of Engineering
- Jesse Estrada White, James Madison College
- Achintya Chaganti, College of Natural Science
- Dhruv Kekin Toprani, College of Engineering
- Danielle Cornell, College of Social Science
- James Williams, College of Engineering
- Anabelle Sanchez, James Madison College
- Sonya Koenig, James Madison College
- Vatsal Gupta, College of Engineering
- Aastha Patel, College of Natural Science

RESOLVED, That the Associated Students of Michigan State University confirm and appoint the following students to the University Steering Committee:

- Ahmed Amir, James Madison College
- Connor Le, College of Social Science

RESOLVED, That the Associated Students of Michigan State University confirm and appoint the following students to serve as *ex-officio* members of the Faculty Senate:

• Ahmed Amir, James Madison College

RESOLVED, That the Associated Students of Michigan State University confirm and appoint the following students to the University Committee on Undergraduate Education (UCUE):

- Ahmed Amir, James Madison College
- Vansh Kher, College of Natural Science
- Jasnoor Kaur, James Madison College
- Dhruv Kekin Toprani, College of Engineering

⁴ AANC 24-25 Round 1 Evaluations

- **RESOLVED,** That the Associated Students of Michigan State University confirm and appoint the following students to the University Council on Student Life and Engagement (UCSLE):
 - Connor Le, College of Social Science
 - Gauravi Limbole, College of Engineering, College of Natural Science
 - Jesse Estrada White, James Madison College
 - Achintya Chaganti, College of Natural Science
 - Shri Keerthi Alla, Lyman Briggs College
 - Aastha Patel, College of Natural Science
- **RESOLVED,** That the Associated Students of Michigan State University confirm and appoint the following students to the University Committee on Academic Governance (UCAG):
 - David Hogan, James Madison College
 - Sonya Koenig, James Madison College
 - Vatsal Gupta, College of Engineering
- **RESOLVED,** That the Associated Students of Michigan State University confirm and appoint the following students to the University Committee on Curriculum (UCC):
 - Alika Sharma, College of Engineering
- **RESOLVED,** That the Associated Students of Michigan State University confirm and appoint the following students to the University Committee for the Library (UCL):
 - Evan Phan, Eli Broad College of Business, College of Natural Science
 - Sydney Logsdon, College of Agriculture and Natural Resources, College of Arts and Letters
- **RESOLVED,** That the Associated Students of Michigan State University confirm and appoint the following students to the University Committee on Faculty Tenure (UCFT):
 - Akshith Sam, College of Engineering
- **RESOLVED,** That the Associated Students of Michigan State University confirm and appoint the following students to the All-University Committee on Traffic and Transportation Committee (AUTTC):
 - Joshua Ennis, College of Communication Arts and Sciences, James Madison College

• Mustafa Danish, College of Engineering

RESOLVED, That the Associated Students of Michigan State University confirm and *nominate*⁵ the following students to the Athletic Council:

- Isabelle Radakovich, James Madison College
- Alexandra Pham, College of Social Science
- Sibgha Khan, James Madison College

INTRODUCED ON	8.29.24		
REFERRED TO <u>N/A</u>	COMMIT	ГЕЕ ON <u>N/</u>	<u>A</u>
SPECIAL ACTION TAKEN	<u>Consent Business</u>	DATE_	8.29.24
COMMITTEE ACTION PASS	ED FAILED		DATE
FINAL ACTION TAKEN <u>x</u> PASSE		<u>Voice Majority</u> VOTE	
PRESIDENT: Connor Le VPIA: Kathryn Harding			

⁵ According to the MSU <u>Academic Governance Bylaws</u>, 5.2.3.3 and 5.2.3.3.1 outline that the MSU President selects the student representative to the Athletic Council from a slate of three nominees submitted by ASMSU