General Assembly

/General Assembly
General Assembly 2018-03-02T20:02:19+00:00

Project Description

What is the General Assembly?

The General Assembly is the legislative body of the Associated Students of Michigan State University. The Assembly is comprised of college-elected representatives from the degree-granting colleges, as well as representatives from the Council of Racial and Ethnic Students (CORES), Council of Progressive Students (COPS), and major governing organizations (Residence Hall Association, Fraternity and Sorority Life Councils, etc.)

The Assembly introduces, debates, and votes on legislative action to take a stance on behalf of the collective undergraduate student body. Legislative action from the Assembly on behalf of the undergraduate student body is then carried forward in advocacy to University officials, community leaders, as well as representatives at the State Capitol and Federal level of government. The Assembly also maintains fiduciary responsibility for the funds of the organization, authorizing the annual ASMSU budget in the spring, and any other expenditures that are not already set forward in the budget for the organization.

General Assembly meetings are open to all members of the public, where all undergraduate students are encouraged to participate, and can be found on the calendar below. Elections to join the General Assembly occur each spring semester in the month of April. Should there be an opening to fill a vacancy, an announcement for appointments will be made known on the home page of the ASMSU website.

If you have questions about the General Assembly, please contact the Vice President for Internal Administration at vpia@asmsu.msu.edu.

ASMSU Calendar - GA

*Calendar is subject to change.

**All of the General Assembly meetings of the Spring Semester 2018 will take place in the International Center room 115. And all of the Committee meetings will take place at Student Services Building room 328.  

Public Comment Sign-in

According to Title II, Section 11 Item C of ASMSU’s Code of Operations outline in our Constitution:
 During public comment on agenda items, any topic may be discussed up to 15 minutes unless extended by a majority vote of the assembly. Any student may speak, but only once, with a three minute time limit unless extended by consent of the General Assembly

The agenda is in the drop-down menu to the right.


54th Session Representatives

Email: agnatreps@asmsu.msu.edu

  • Gabrielle Wihongi
  • Josh Prusik
    Agriculture and Natural Resources - Josh Prusik IMG_0709
  • Sergei Kelley
    Agriculture and Natural Resources - Sergei Kelley

Email: artslettersreps@asmsu.msu.edu

  • Carla Simone
  • Landon Fortenberry
    Arts and Letters - Landon Fortenberry

Email: businessreps@asmsu.msu.edu

  • Pavan Sampath
  • Jack Person
    Business College - Jack Person
  • Dante Booker

Email: commartsreps@asmsu.msu.edu

  • Aidan Sova
    Communication Arts and Sciences - Aidan Sova
  • Maysa Sitar
  • Christopher Gustafson

Email: educationreps@asmsu.msu.edu

  • Quynh Hoang
  • Cyntara Herndon

Email: engineeringreps@asmsu.msu.edu

  • Elizabeth Ausmus
  • Ryan Aridi

Email: jmcreps@asmsu.msu.edu

  • Dylan Westrin
  • Adam Majestic

Email: lymanbriggsreps@asmsu.msu.edu

  • Benjamin Horne
  • Amit Talukder

Email: musicreps@asmsu.msu.edu

  • Isaiah Hawkins
  • Elizabeth Medlin
    College of Music - Elizabeth Medlin

Email: natscireps@asmsu.msu.edu

  • Caroline Colpoys
  • Katherine Gray
  • Jonas Hallstein

Email: nursingreps@asmsu.msu.edu

  • Lauren Sharp
  • Megan Walsh

Email: socialscireps@asmsu.msu.edu

  • Jordan Polk
  • Emily Torossian
  • Joshua Ressio
  • Dakota Hurd
    Dakota Hurd
  • Lauren Pepper

Email: noprefreps@asmsu.msu.edu

  • Olivia Long
    No Preference - Olivia Long
  • Zach Heaton
    No Preference - Zack Heaton

Rotation basis

Mateusz Leszczynski

Rotation Basis

Daniel Manitakos